Twelve graduate students receive Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award

Author: Gene Stowe

Nd42916 1047 5

Twelve graduate students who are instructors and teaching assistants in the College of Science received the Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Award from the Kaneb Center for Teaching and Learning. The recipients are Bide Xiong of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics; Jenifer Gifford, Sheri Sanders, Kimbra Turner, and Victoria Zellmer of Biological Sciences; Michael Brennan, Clyde Daly, Ruth Nelson and Emily Shangle of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Edward Burkard and Brian Stoyell-Mulholland of Mathematics; and Bryce Frentz of Physics. 





The award, created in 1999, recognizes excellence in graduate student teaching. Departments can select up to 5 percent of their graduate student instructors and TAs for the honor. The Kaneb Center recommends criteria including excellent student evaluations, faculty recommendation letters, personal teaching statements from the applicants, and observation of classroom teaching by a faculty mentor. Honorees receive a certificate from the Kaneb Center and Graduate School, a letter documenting the award for the graduate student’s file, a $100 honorarium, and an invitation to a formal dinner hosted by the Kaneb Center and the Graduate School that was held on April 20.



Originally published by Gene Stowe at on April 29, 2016.